Instrumentation: violin, percussion
Duration: 6 minutes
Written for the 2020-21 CeReNeM ‘Virtual’ Ensemble in Residence programme with International Contemporary Ensemble.

Passacaglia (Jakob Bragg) Excerpt

Programme Note
Written for International Contemporary Ensemble, this work plays homage to Heinrich Ignaz Franz Biber’s last work of his Mystery (Rosary) Sonatas. The exquisite, the emotive, the raw, and the exposed are all amplified to their utmost extreme, with traces of the original almost lost beneath the multitude of sonic layers.

Performance History
15th September 2021: Online premiere (see below), NY, USA – International Contemporary Ensemble

Score Availability:
A3 full score (no individual parts), contact me